Aura Auric Colors

We think it better, before proceeding further, to give you a general idea of these Auric colors, and the thought, feeling, or emotion to which each belongs. These colors shade and blend into thousands of combinations, but the following table will perhaps give you a fair idea of the subject, and will enable you more readily to understand what we will say a little later on in this lesson.

Auric Colors and Their Meanings.

  • Black: represents hatred, malice, revenge, and similar feelings.
  • Gray: of a bright shade, represents selfishness.
  • Gray: of a peculiar shade (almost that of a corpse) , represents fear and terror.
  • Gray: of a dark shade, represents depression and melancholy.
  • Green: of a dirty shade, represents jealousy. If much anger is mingled with the jealousy, it will appear as red flashes on the green background.
  • Green: of almost a slate color shade, represents low deceit.
  • Green: of a peculiar bright shade, represents tolerance to the opinions and beliefs of others, easy adjustment to changing conditions, adaptability, tact, politeness, worldly wisdom, etc., and qualities which some might possibly consider “refined deceit.” Red: of a shade resembling the dull flame when it bursts out of a burning building, mingled with the smoke, represents sensuality and the animal passions.
  • Red: seen in the shape of bright red flashes resembling the lightning flash in shape, indicates anger. These are usually shown on a black background in the case of anger arising from hatred or malice, but in cases of anger arising from jealousy they appear on a greenish background. Anger arising from indignation or defense of a supposed “right,” lacks these backgrounds, and usually shows as red flashes independent of a background.
  • Blue: of a dark shade, represents religious thought, emotion, and feeling. This color, however, varies in clearness according to the degree of unselfishness manifest in the religious conception. The shades and degrees of clearness vary from a dull indigo to
  • Crimson: represents love, varying in shade according to the character of the passion. A gross sensual love will be a dull and heavy crimson, while one mixed with higher feelings will appear in lighter and more pleasing shades. A very high form of love shows a color almost approaching a beautiful rose color.
  • Brown: of a reddish tinge, represents avarice and greed.
  • Orange: of a bright shade, represents pride and ambition.
  • Yellow: in its various shades, represents intellectual power. If the intellect contents itself with things of a low order, the shade is a dark, dull yellow; and as the field of the intellect rises to higher levels, the color grows brighter and clearer, a beautiful golden yellow betokening great intellectual attainment, broad and brilliant reasoning, etc. a beautiful rich violet, the latter representing the highest religious feeling.
  • Light Blue: of a peculiarly clear and luminous shade, represents spirituality. Some of the higher degrees of spirituality observed in ordinary mankind show themselves in this shade of blue filled with luminous bright points, sparkling and twinkling like stars on a clear winter night.

The student will remember that these colors form endless combinations and blendings, and show themselves in greatly varying degrees of brightness and size, all of which have meanings to the developed occultist. In addition to the colors mentioned above, there are several others for which we have no names, as they are outside of the colors visible in the spectrum, and consequently science, not being able to perceive them, has not thought it necessary to bestow definite names upon them, although theoretically they are known to exist.

Science tells us that there exist what are known as “ultra-violet” rays and “ultra-red” rays, neither of which can be followed by the human eyes, even with the aid of mechanical appliances, the vibrations being beyond our senses.These two “ultra” colors (and several others unknown to science) are known to occultists and may be seen by the person of a certain degree of psychic power.

The significance of this statement may be more fully grasped when we state that when seen in the Human Aura either of these “ultra” colors indicates psychic development, the degree of intensity depending upon the degree of development. Another remarkable fact, to those who have not thought of the matter, is that the “ultra-violet” color in the Aura indicates psychic development when used on a high and unselfish plane, while “the ultra red” color, when seen in the Human Aura, indicates that the person has psychic development, but is using the same for selfish and unworthy purposes – “black magic,” in fact.

The “ultra-violet” rays lie just outside of an extreme of the visible spectrum known to science, while the “ultra-red” rays lie just beyond the other extreme. The vibrations of the first are too high for the ordinary human eye to sense, while the second consists of vibrations as much too low as the first is too high. And the real difference between the two forms of psychic power is as great as is indicated by the respective positions of these two “ultra” colors.

In addition to the two “ultra” colors just alluded to, there is another which is invisible to the ordinary sight – the true primary yellow, which is indicative of the Spiritual Illumination and which is faintly seen around the heads of the spiritually great. The color which we are taught is characteristic of the seventh principle, Spirit, is said to be of pure white light, of a peculiar brilliancy, the like of which has never been seen by human eyes – in fact, the very existence of absolute “white light” is denied by Western science.

The Aura emanating from the Instinctive Mind consists principally of the heavier and duller shades. In sleep, when the mind is quiet, there appears chiefly a certain dull red, which indicates that the Instinctive Mind is merely performing the animal functions of the body. This shade, of course, is always apparent, but during the waking hours is often obscured by the brighter shades of the passing thoughts, emotions, or feelings.